Climate crisis for breakfast

Dear interested reader, I have been an avid reader since my youth and even as a child I would read over the entire cereal box at breakfast in the morning. It always had the healthy pyramid design. A visual warning to consume less sweets:

Dr. Kellogg, or his followers, wished to imply to us that carbohydrates are the most important foodstuffs. How wonderful for them, as they were and are in the grain business. This has been targeted as a reason for obesity in America. Honi soit qui mal y pense.

Of course we know better now, that fruit and vegetables should make up the largest part of our diet. (Don’t get me started about the Germans drinking mineral water 🙅‍♂️)

When there is no newspaper about or a dearth of messages on the cellphone. My mind and eye drift to the messages that my breakfast is sending me.

In a similar manner, the German government has symbols on processed foods to rate their health value. My cheese is only a D, likely due to a 48% fat ratio.

Does this possibly cause the poorly informed to buy other cheese, or is it just there to give everyone a case of bad conscience?

Fruits! Well, how about Jams in the winter to cut down the un-ecological flying of produce? Only C, I am informed. Probably because of the sugar content to conserve the berries.

We’ll never stop the CO2 driving global transport of produce like this. – – Which brings me to my title picture, the CO2 footprint of my margarine, Germany’s most popular brand. Nice idea, however, what shall I do with the information? Is it set in a relationship to the annual CO2 amount that I can consume and still reduce global warming? Can I compare the carbon footprint of my jam as compares to flown fresh fruit?

Will my Supermarkt start to list my CO2 consumption figures adjacent to the prices of the items? Their APP already tallies purchases and tries to seduce me to more consumption to reach the next „level“ and win some freebie or rebate that is packed in plastic. 🤦

Has the margarine company succumbed to the German tradition of „vorauseilende Gehorsam“ the anticipation of obedience? Is there legislation in the offing to quantify CO2 in all things? An interesting concept, but a bureaucratic monstrosity.

To round it all up, I have the notice to separate the tin lid from the glass and recycle them individually (recycling is rocket science), some new vegan and organic symbolism (that is unregulated and therefore of marginal value), and some useful symbols for the allergic. – – I am reminded of the song: „Signs, signs, everywhere the signs…“

Or perhaps better – „…we won’t be fooled again…“

Musings of your Social Media Designate, Michael Boyer

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar